New Zealand’s Amelia Kerr hits 232 not out, smashes women’s ODI record


New Zealand's Amelia Kerr on Wednesday broke the record for the highest individual score in women's ODI in a match against Ireland in Dublin. She was involved in a record second-wicket partnership with Leigh Kasperek who scored her maiden ODI hundred before being out on 113 off 105 with 10 fours.

India's Rohit Sharma has the highest score in a one-day global, making 264 against Sri Lanka in Kolkata in 2014. Kerr surpassed Clark's record with her 232* runs from 145 deliveries.

"I had throwdowns without a helmet, there was one short one I pulled which I had to watch really hard so my eye was in quite well. I knew that the powerplay was coming so once we got to the powerplay, with only three out, I was going to try to go hard then". But once I got through that it got a bit easier.

Asked if her approach had altered after she reached three figures, Kerr replied: "Not much changed too much; I just wanted to keep batting". It's pinging off nicely. "I think I heard them say stuff on the speaker, but I couldn't hear because everyone kept clapping".

"I am quite exhausted".

"After my innings I had a little nap and then went out to field".

Kim Jong-un Invites Trump to Pyongyang for Second Round of Summit
It formally referred to Trump by his full name in the Monday report, including his middle initial - the first time it has done so. He thanked Singapore's organisation of the summit as if it was "their own family affair".

Kerr has previously batted down the order for the national team, but was elevated to opener in Dublin and has long-term aspirations to return there.

Kerr's innings is third highest in ODI cricket, behind Rohit Sharma's 264 and Martin Guptill's 237.

"In the future that's where I want to end up (opening)". That is something I want to do at the worldwide level.

Kerr's parents arrived in Ireland too late to witness their daughter's awesome innings.

New Zealand now travel across the Irish Sea to face England and South Africa in a Twenty20 tri-series, from June 20-July 1.