Offline Support Comes to the New Gmail

Share

The new feature allowed Gmail users to work without the internet connection and save all the changes once Gmail is connected to the internet. After switching to new Gmail, go to Settings and selected Offline from the menu and then Enable offline mail from the options. But it's not the first time that Google has enabled this feature: A special Gmail Offline web app for Chrome was available previously, and Gmail users could also enable offline support via a browser extension.

You'll need to sign into your other Gmail account and turn on Gmail offline. Once the necessary details are filled, all the users need to do is click on the Save Changes option at the bottom of the page.

Choose your settings, such as how many days of messages you want to sync.

Offline users are limited to storage space available to Chrome, which Google said is usually only a fraction of the total free space on a drive.

Furthermore, any changes, modifications and edits performed online will be synced on Google's servers once the device is connected to the Internet, meaning that these changes can only be seen natively on the same device and in order for the changes to be effected to your Gmail account, it has to sync.

Michigan State University Pays $500M To Larry Nassar's Victims
Nassar faced charges on seven counts of criminal sexual misconduct in the first degree, to which he pleaded guilty to in November. In 2014, the university determined that his "pelvic floor" treatments were medically legitimate , despite complaints.

Click on the gear icon below your user portrait.

Gmail's offline mode stores your emails from a specified date range on your desktop. If left behind, cached emails could be a serious security risk.

Before going offline, open Gmail in Chrome so that Gmail is already loaded. Second, you'll need to update your Gmail experience to the "new Gmail" before getting the option to switch to offline mode.

Disabling Gmail offline and deleting stored messages is a simple process. You can find this option by opening the Chrome Settings menu, scrolling down to Advanced, and then clicking on the Clear Browsing Data menu item.

Under "All cookies and site data", click Remove all.

Share