Karolina Pliskova smashes racquet through umpire's chair after loss at Italian Open

Share

You couldn't really blame the former world No. 1 for being upset, after her overhead at deuce was called out at 5-5 in the deciding third set of her match against Maria Sakkari of Greece.

Television replays clearly showed the ball landing in but with no Hawkeye in use and the line judge unable to verify which mark the shot had left, the line judge's call of out stood.

After both women met each other at the net, Pliskova refused to shake the umpire's hands before bashing a noticeable hole in the umpire's chair as the crowd and Sakkari watched on in shock.

US Open champion Sloane Stephens held off a comeback from Estonian qualifier Kaia Kanepi in a 6-0 5-7 6-4 victory; seventh-seeded Caroline Garcia defeated Timea Babos 6-3 6-4 and 14th-seeded Daria Kasatkina eliminated American qualifier Danielle Collins 6-2 6-3.

Ryan Reynolds and Josh Brolin insult each other while promoting Deadpool 2
Deadpool 2 , the sequel to the barnstorming 2016 debut of the superhero, is due in theaters later this week. It's a character so indelibly linked to the actor that you can not imagine anyone else playing him.

Karolina Pliskova wasn't happy about a crucial blown call in her second-round loss at the Italian Open, delivering an all-time post-match tantrum.

Karolina Pliskova is now the world number six in the women's singles rankings, and topped the pile as recently as July 2017.

The decision prompted fury from fans online, some calling for the umpire to be removed from their position, whilst some claimed Pliskova went too far in her actions.

Share