BJP's Andhra battle plays out in Karnataka


With a good number of Telegu people residing in neighbouring Karnataka, a call from Naidu asking them to shun BJP during the state elections could be one of the reasons for the party losing some seats that could have otherwise given them the required majority, feel many political analysts focusing on the area.

"(TDP supremo and AP chief minister) Chandrababu Naidu said that Telugu people will not vote for us in Karnataka, but that did not happen. "The result is BJP was prevented from getting the magic figure to form the government", says actor-turned-activist Sivaji. But in Hyderabad Karnataka where most Telugus live, BJP has increased its tally from 6 to 20+. In Bellary, despite the roping in the Reddy brothers, the BJP won three out of nine seats. Subsequently the two parties merged with the BJP.

YouTube just added songwriter, label and publisher credits to millions of songs
The " Music in this Video " feature is live now, go check it out and see who has been making your favorite songs. YouTube now has the answers for over half a billion videos... and counting.

Shankersinh Vaghela, who had raised a banner of revolt in the BJP in Gujarat, had the "open support" of the Congress to split the saffron party but its government still proved its numbers in the assembly, the post said.

Terming the people's mandate in Karnataka as a slap on the TDP leaders from Andhra Pradesh whose activists campaigned vigorously against the BJP in Karnataka, he said that the poll outcome augured well for the party ahead of the 2019 elections. He also mentioned that BJP's march into south has begun. Speaking at a rally, Naidu said "the BJP should be defeated for resorting to conspiracies and collusion politics against its own alliance partner and a new state that had suffered due to bifurcation". Former Union minister and TDP Rajya Sabha member Y S Chowdary told The Indian Express, "I don't think this (Karnataka results) will have any impact on Andhra Pradesh". In Raichur and Kolar, the TDP supporters claimed that the BJP stood second in many constituencies. According to vote share break up, BJP has polled 37.5 per cent while the Congress has secured 37.4 per cent and JD (S) 18.1.