At 70 per cent turnout, Karnataka's on a high


According to the CMS, the money spent by various political parties and their candidates in the Karnataka assembly polls is in the range of Rs 9,500-10,500 crore, which is more than twice of what was spent in the previous assembly poll in the state in 2013.

Rawat said that security has been beefed up across the state, with the Central Armed Police Forces (CAPF) being deployed in strong rooms to ensure fair counting of votes."We have deployed CAPF in strong rooms, adequate security personnel presence will be there at all counting centers to ensure law and order is maintained", Rawat said.

Meanwhile, repolling is underway polling booth number 20 and 21 in Kushtagi assembly constituency and Hebbala constituency's Lottagollanahalli booth number 2.

Gradually gaining momentum, 56 per cent voter turnout was recorded as of 3pm on Saturday in the 222 constituencies that went to polls.

Women and young voters exercised their franchise in large numbers yesterday, he said. "By midnight, the figures showed that it was 72.13 per cent", he told PTI. It was 65 percent in 2008 and 2004, 69 percent in 1989 and 1994, and 69 percent in the 1990 Assembly election.

Hillary Clinton warns Australia on Chinese 'influence peddling'
Hillary Clinton recently took another trip overseas where she discussed her 2016 election loss to Donald Trump. Former Australian Prime Minister Julia Gillard with Hillary Clinton.

Election Commission of India, Karnataka Election Results 2018: Polling was held in 222 constituencies of the 224-member Assembly as elections in two constituencies, Jayanagara and Rajrajeshwari were countermanded.

The election to the Rajarajeshwari Nagar seat has been deferred to May 28 after the seizure of fake voter cards from an apartment.

While an eatery is offering free dosa and coffee, an internet café has offered free internet for voters and discount for first-time voters.

Noting that over 2,600 candidates were in the fray including 2,400 men and over 200 women, he said that the total number of voters, including service electors were 5,06,90,538, of whom 2,56,75,579 were male, 2,50,09,904 female and 5,055 transgender.