Apple Will Allow Users To Download All Their Personal Data

Share

In a bid to comply with GDPR requirements, Apple has today launched a new Data and Privacy website which allows users to download all the data that the company associates with them, all under one website. All of the information collected by Apple is, of course, voluntary but it is always good to know precisely what information they have and gives customers the ability to spot and correct errors. Apple informs you when the data is available to download, and it is automatically erased after 2 weeks. However, Apple does provide links on how to get that data, along with a Frequently Asked Questions page to help users out.

The feature is now restricted only to users in the European Union, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland but will we rolling out internationally later this year. For now, the only options available on U.S. accounts are "Correct your data" and "Delete your account". Although its only available in Europe right now, Apple does plan to make the feature available to everyone soon.

Oil slips further below $80 a barrel as focus on OPEC intensifies
Nearly every analyst and economist in a Bloomberg survey expected stockpiles to shrink. "The risk is to the downside right now". Brent crude futures were trading $1.08, or 1.4 percent, lower at $78.45 a barrel as of 10:54 a.m.

You can download any or all of the data. Likewise, you'll be able to get information on physical in-store and online purchases, as well as Apple Care repairs. Moreover, for all the data included in that package, it isn't everything Apple has on you. This means that your Apple ID data, as well as data you've synced through various apps and processes, including Apple Music and the iCloud, will be available. Customers also have the option to temporarily or permanently delete all the information Apple holds on them, ending their access to Apple services such as the App Store.

Like deactivation requests, requesting to delete all data must be verified and takes up to seven days. Unlike deactivation, users can't go back once the data is gone.

Share