Heisman Trophy finalist Bryce Love at a glance


Hours before finding out his fate for the Maxwell and Davey O'Brien Awards, Oklahoma quarterback Baker Mayfield was named the 2017 Associated Press Player of the Year. Check out these campaign videos for the Heisman Trophy finalists. He's a big part of the reason Mayfield was so upset Oklahoma wasn't a finalist for the Joe Moore Award, given to the nation's best O-line.

Eight players have been invited to multiple Heisman ceremonies without winning the trophy - BYU QB Robbie Bosco (1984, 1985), Iowa State RB Troy Davis (1995, 1996), Purdue QB Drew Brees (1999, 2000), Miami QB Ken Dorsey (2001, 2002), Arkansas RB Darren McFadden (2006, 2007), Texas QB Colt McCoy (2008, 2009), Stanford QB Andrew Luck (2010, 2011), and Clemson QB Deshaun Watson (2015, 2016). Mayfield has tossed 41 touchdown passes and rushed for another five, while he's thrown just five interceptions.

"I'm honored to be chosen as a finalist with these two outstanding players", Jackson said in a statement.

Jackson is trying to become the second player to win two Heismans, joining former Ohio State star Archie Griffin, but Mayfield will come to Manhattan as the clear front-runner. "I want to thank all my teammates and coaches for achieving this honor together".

'Bohemian Rhapsody' Gets New Director After Brian Singer's Departure
The director left the project in March 2014 over creative differences, and eventually Singer came on board with star Rami Malek . Bryan Singer fired from the production of the Queen biopic, Bohemian Rhapsody over reported clashes and set no-shows.

The only Heisman victor to repeat is Archie Griffin of Ohio State (1974, 1975).

Love is second in the nation in rushing at 164.42 yards per game and is averaging 8.32 yards per carry for the 15th-ranked Cardinal. At the end of the day, it's a quarterback's trophy unless a running back does something unforeseen.

Sooners quarterback Baker Mayfield placed third in Heisman voting past year behind victor Lamar Jackson and Deshaun Watson. Jackson, the reigning Heisman Trophy victor, is back as a finalist after putting together another impressive campaign that includes 3,489 passing yards, 1,443 rushing yards, 25 touchdown passes and 17 rushing scores. Penny had big games against Pac-12 teams Stanford and Arizona State early in the season but was held in check by San Diego State's top Mountain West rivals, Fresno State and Boise State.